Schedule>Design Management>DESIGN LEADERSHIP :The Role of Design as Anomaly
  • Speaker

    Francesco GalliPolitecnico Milano - Design SchoolProfessor

    Design Lab Research and Enterprise
    Innovative Design Management Network,
    Executive Course Design Leadership Fundamentals

    Expert in leadership and organisational change.

    Researcher - Design Lab Research and Enterprise, 2003,Design Department - Politecnico Milano
    Researcher - Innovative Design Management Network, 2009,Design Department - Politecnico Milano
    Phd Design - Design as Power - the dark side of design ,exploring design between Leadership , Conflict and Influence
    Executive Course Leadership Fundamentals ,2014 ,MIP Management Institute - Politecnico Milano
    He manages action/research projects developed with companies and productive systems.
    Leadership coach, storytelling trainer and innovation facilitator, Manager and Researcher focus on:Inno Design Leadership, Learning Strategies, Strategic Problem Solving, Network and Management.
    He has consulted on Leadership, Organisational change, Scenario Building, Design and metadesign and strategic planning projects with many Italian companies and international clients such as:
    Artemide, Alessi, Kartell, Chateau d’Ax, Poliform, Limonta, Ratti, Riva, Illy Caffè, Lavazza, Nespresso, Cimbali Faema, Campari, Samsung, La 3, Tiscali, Finlombarda, Fondazione Filarete, Euroma 2, Atm Milano, Bisazza, Eni, Marcegaglia, Augusta Westland, Gavazzi Space, Mapei, Luxottica, Pirelli, Pinifarina, Coop, Rolex, Gewiss, Rcs Media group, MSC Crociere, Armani, Max Mara, Mantero Seta, Swarovsky, Luxgallery, Principe di Savoia, Smau, Mondadori, Feltrinelli, Fashion Tv, Filmaster Group, TVN Media Group, Ac Milan, Siggraph Asia, Expo Shanghai 2010, Municipality of Milan, Lombardy Region, Chambers of Commerce Milan, Triennale Milano, Il Sole 24 Ore.
    As an expert in leadership and organisational change, has participated as speaker in various congresses and conferences in:Beijing, Shanghai, Honk Hong, Changsha, Xi’an, Xiamen, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Dalian, Wuxi, Suzhuo, Chengdu, Sao Paolo, Porto Alegre, Santiago Chile, Temuco Chile, Valparaiso, Tokyo, Kyoto, Sydney, Melbourne, Taipei, New Dheli.

DESIGN LEADERSHIP :The Role of Design as Anomaly

Session S10
Date 07-17
Start Time 16:50
End Time 17:08
Type keynote speech

DESIGN LEADERSHIP:the role of Design as Anomaly; managing crisis and turbulence, coaching creativity, innovation and attitude.


Design today is still a discipline moving between art and method. Beside its strong and deep involvement within the industrial activities, beside the large quantity of engineering tools able to support it in studying, developing, verifying and testing, beside the so many methods oriented toward a solid progress during a project, the role of the designer is always connected to creativity, and such a role is commonly felt in the universities, or at the beginning of their career.


More, as the interest fields of Design widened from industrial products to communication, fashion, services, and so on (i.e. from material immaterial goods), the complexity of the problems to cope with suggested the use of conceptual tools based on ethnographic aspects, in order to define properly constraints and to provide naïve models of scenarios, from which to derive the proper features.


The Workshop will discuss this ideas from the point of view of the educational processes and testify experiences in workshop activities, describing case studies; the typical approach of: selecting an application field, defining an intervention area, carrying on an ethnographic study, identifying personas and then tracking possible behaviors and needs, then defining some possible solutions for possible problems seems to be an excellent way for providing trivial uninteresting and obsolete good solutions.


We will tried to invert some of the above elements, starting from disruption as a starting point, starting from the principle of provoking constraints, possibly to be overtaken.


So, following a slightly different approach: select an application field, define an intervention area, observe the behaviors, consider which are the usual stereotypes, try to destroy them and so define new formal constraints, provide preliminary solutions, use different principles and methods as validation means, and provide the final proposal.


The constraints, defined in terms of formal elements or of conceptual elements (think in term of four genders, invert the social values of the genders, avoid usefulness and follow futility), were able to provoke very innovative attitude (e.g. “personal empathic dream communication” between two emotionally involved unit) in respect to other, smarts well as boring and without any success possibility.


Target Audience:

Designers who want to create buy-in and build credibility within their organizations. Product managers, developers, marketers, and technology experts. Anyone who is committed to a great user experience and wants to develop their leadership skills and to communicate more effectively.


Benefit for Participants:

1.The distinguishing traits of leaders and how to cultivate those qualities within yourself.

2.How to assess the interpersonal, communication, and collaboration dynamics at play in your team or organization.

3.How to recognize and leverage the distinct mental models, goals, and needs of business, engineering and design stakeholders.

4.Approaches to reducing ambiguity and increasing transparency throughout the design process.

5.Techniques for gaining alignment around vision, process, and outcome.

6.Managing differences in the way you and your boss(es) orient to uncertainty, time, control, and information processing.

7.Cooper’s approach to thought partnership (Pair Design).

8.Techniques for keeping design reviews anchored in business value and user goals.

9.Using persuasion and rhetoric to sell your product vision and get buy-in.


Prev:The User Experience in Internet AgeNext:山寨与廉价——中国创新的窘境

About us

International eXperience Design Committee (IXDC) is a non-profit organization founded in 2010 with the support of over 20 famous companies and universities in China. Its primary responsibility is to promote the notion of experiencing the value of innovation to the society, and its significant task is to construct an international platform for exhibition and communication.

Contact us

日程安排>设计管理>设计领导:设计是非正常角色,管理危机和动荡,指导创造力、创新和态度
  • 主讲人

    Francesco Galli米兰理工大学设计学院教授

    Prof.Francesco Galli是米兰理工设计学院创新设计网络管理项目负责人。他拥有米兰理工大学设计学院的设计硕士学位。他的工作集中于设计的策略,服务设计和工业公司、中小企业的设计。他开发了许多应用研究和基于设计的创新型组织策略的发展。他的研究包括为设计和创新过程新的解决方案所提出或进行的策略、方案、再现及可视化。曾经为很多意大利和国际客户做设计工作,并被多次邀请做关于设计和品牌策略的演讲。

    他担任关于领导力、组织变革、场景构建,设计和元设计事宜并与许多意大利公司和国际客户洽谈战略规划项目的咨询顾问,例如:阿尔泰米德、Alessi、卡特尔、Chateau d ’Ax、 Poliform、Limonta、Ratti、 Illy咖啡、Lavazza、Nespresso、Cimbali Faema、Campari、三星、La 3 、Tiscali、Finlombarda Fondazione 、Euroma 2、  Atm Milano、碧莎、埃尼、Marcegaglia、马奥古斯塔、韦斯特兰、Gavazzi空间、Mapei、Luxottica、倍耐力、Pinifarina、库伯、劳力士、Gewiss, Rcs传媒集团、MSC、Crociere、阿玛尼、Max Mara 、Mantero Seta、Swarovsky、Luxgallery、Principe di Savoia 、Smau、Feltrinelli、时尚电视、Filmaster集团、TVN传媒集团、Ac米兰、Siggraph亚洲、2010年上海世博会、直辖市米兰、伦巴第地区、米兰商会、米兰Triennale、Il Sole 24 Ore。

    作为领导和组织变革的专家,参加各代表大会和会议并在大会上发言:
    北京、上海、香港、长沙、西安、厦门、深圳、广州、大连、无锡、苏州、成都、圣保罗、阿雷格里港、圣地亚哥、智利、智利特科木、瓦尔帕莱索、东京、京都、悉尼、墨尔本、台北、新德里。

设计领导:设计是非正常角色,管理危机和动荡,指导创造力、创新和态度

场次 S10
日期 07月17日
开始时间 16:50
结束时间 17:08
内容形式 大会演讲

今天的设计仍然是一门艺术和方法之间的科目。与工业活动有着紧密的联系,大量的工程工具能够支持其研究、开发、验证和测试,在一个项目的切实进展中有许多方法,设计师的角色总是与创造力有关,这样一个角色通常存在于大学,或在他们的职业生涯开始的时候。


随着工业产品用于国际交流、时尚、服务等行业(即从物质到非物质产品),设计领域会获得更多利益。基于人类学理念,运用概念工具,解决复杂问题。为了适当定义约束条件,并提供纯场景模型,从中获得正确的特性。


这次Prof.Galli将通过大会演讲以及两个系统的工作坊与大家一同从教育过程角度讨论这个想法并在活动中进行实验,描述案例研究。其典型的方法是:选择应用领域,定义干预区域,进行民族志学的研究,识别人物角色,然后跟踪可能的行为和需求,对可能出现的问题定义解决方案,这似乎是一个提供良好解决方案的完美方式。


我们将试图转化上面的一些元素,以中断作为起点,从引发的约束原则开始,这样可能被超越。


因此,遵循一种稍微不同的方法:选择应用领域,定义干预区,观察行为,考虑哪个作为通常模板,试图摧毁他们并定义新的正式约束条件,提供初步的解决方案,使用不同的原则和方法以及验证手段,并提供最终的建议。


正式元素或概念元素条款中定义的约束条件 (根据四类性别,性别的社会价值观转化,避免无用和无效),能够在其他方面激起非常创新的态度(如两个感情单元之间的“个人移情的梦沟通”),避免无聊和没有任何成功的可能。


目标人群:

设计师想要在他们的组织内赢得支持、建立信誉。产品经理、开发人员、营销人员和技术专家。任何致力于一个伟大的用户体验的人都想要发展自己的领导能力和更有效地沟通力。


参会者获益:

1、领导者的最显著的特征,以及如何培养这些品质

2、如何在你的团队或组织中评估人际、沟通和协作动力

3、如何识别和利用不同的心智模式,商业目标,工程和设计利益相关者



向主讲人提问:
姓名
职位
邮箱
您想听到的内容或希望被解答的疑问
上一场:全联接时代的用户体验下一场:山寨与廉价——中国创新的窘境

关于我们

国际体验设计协会(IXDC)是由20多家中国知名公司和大学联合支持在2010年成立的非盈利机构。向社会推广体验创新价值的理念是首要职责,搭建展示和交流的国际平台是重要任务。国际体验设计大会由IXDC举办,是亚洲最具影响力的用户体验盛会。

联系方式